Photo Feature: Instapics

Having a Social Media presence on a variety of platforms is the ‘in thing’ in contemporary digital world. Thus, I too have an Instagram account, where I share some of my photographs . Here are some of my favourite photographs, from Instagram. I believe, every photo has a story in it and a story behind it. While the story inside the photographs are quite visible, this is the first time, I would probably explain the stories behind it. 

8. 

#manchesterblogs #lifeinmanchester #fireworks

A post shared by Subhadrika Sen (@subhadrika007) on

This was taken in Albert Square Manchester during the Christmas Lights Switch on. There were around thousands of people gathered in the Manchester Council to see the big Santa being lighted.

You can have a look at the entire event at https://trekkersoftheeast.wordpress.com/2015/11/08/city-council-comes-alive-with-the-lights-of-christmas/ 

7. 

#bliss #catclicks #collegelife #littlebuddy #memories #randomclicks #sunbath

A post shared by Subhadrika Sen (@subhadrika007) on

It is not that I am an avid fan of cats, but I like them. They are sweet and cute. My college is technically incomplete without cats. There have been times when they have actually entered classrooms and sat down as additional students. This cat was taking a nice winter afternoon sun bath amongst the bushes when I clicked him. This photo was taken by my mobile as I did not take my camera to college.

6. 

China Town, Manchester is a lovely place. It is just off the corner from Manchester Piccadilly. This huge ornamental gate is almost like a symbol to this ancient culture. Chinatown is flooded with amazing Chinese and Thai restaurants and takeaways. This is one place that cannot be missed in your bucket list for Manchester Sightseeing.

5. 

#hotchocolate #marshmallows #midnightdrink #midnightmadness #happytime #instacapture #yummy #selfmade

A post shared by Subhadrika Sen (@subhadrika007) on

The very first cup of Hot Chocolate with Marshmallows that I made myself. I don’t usually cook or mix a drink, maybe because I am not very good at either. but when it came to making a cup of Hot Chocolate, I did give it a shot. P.S It was not very bad either 😛 , but not something that I would make ever so often .

4. 

A bit too late to put up Christmas Photographs isn’t it? Well, I completely agree. But I just like the look of the photo. It was taken during a very cold and freezing evening. It gives me chills, when I think of how I removed my gloves to shoot this photo. 

3. 

Taken during one of my rare vacations in Jaipur, Rajasthan, this is a photo of the beautiful palace in the Amer Fort. Built by the fierce Rajput rulers of this state, the Amer Fort and the structural construction within it draw heavily from both Hindu and Mughal architecture. Though this place is a must visit in Jaipur, I would advise you to take the trip in Winters and not in the scorching summer sun. 

2. 

This too has been taken inside the Amer Fort. This is the entrance to one of the temples in the fort. Interestingly, I have often tried to count the number of steps but have lost myself somewhere in the middle. Have you been successful in counting the total number of steps? 

1. 

This photo is my most favourite one out of the whole lot. It was taken in Burra Bazaar, North Kolkata while I was out on a heritage tour to some of the nearby Synagogues and a Temple. It was during a small food break that we took in between our sightseeing, that a friend wanted to enjoy juicy oranges under the warm winter sun. This photo was taken when she was purchasing the oranges from the seller.

Which one is your favourite photo? Do comment and let me know why? I would also appreciate if you do find faults in them and would like to let  me know how I could improve on my skills in the comment section below. Thanks. 🙂 

40 Comments Add yours

  1. Euge Nia says:

    I love all the photos you’ve taken, especially those in Amer Fort! Amazing architecture and a great place to visit one day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Yes its an amazing place to visit. I hope someday you visit it.

      Like

  2. DavidTofie says:

    You made sweet choice out of your photos on Instagram. I have to say you have photographies! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. janella2016 says:

    those images are stunning! I have a love for phorography

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Glad you liked them 🙂

      Like

  4. Amer fort is beautiful, but my favourite is the man with oranges. It captures perfectly the daily life ambience. You have wonderful photos, keep photographing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. NO!!! It’s never too late to put up Christmas photos, its my favourite time of the year! And the manchester light switch on are always impressive, I go every year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thats great. . . It is really beautiful isnt it? This was my first time. . .

      Like

  6. Charlotte says:

    Some beautiful pictures there, I love the one of the cat and find it hilarious that they come and sit in your classroom! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He he . . . they have become unregistered students of our college 😛

      Like

  7. Jessica Ayun says:

    Lovely photo picks! I love most the one in Jaipur, Rajasthan. Looks interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Rajasthan has some breath taking places to visit. 🙂

      Like

  8. Lubka Henry says:

    It was very interesting to read about each of your photos and the story behind it 🙂
    Instagram is a big obsession of mine too!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Katrine says:

    Particularly love the Albert Square Christmas Lights Switch on photo. Can almost feel the vibe just by looking at it!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love the first picture because I love fireworks! I also use Instagram for personal reasons and as a marketing tool. I have some pictures that I like to share that reflect my home life.

    Like

    1. Oh thats nice. I am up for a follow on instagram. Do drop your account here and i will follow you.

      Like

  11. EG III says:

    Well, I love the pics from India…and Christmas in June is a cool idea as well…but I have an affinity for good fireworks pics and you captured a great one!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Liz Mays says:

    These are great photos. Travelers are my favorite Instagrammers to follow. I love your travel pics!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Eloise says:

    I need to start an instagram account! I’ll have to read up on it and all that good stuff! love the photos, looks like you had a lot of adventures… my favorite one is of the fireworks (1st photo)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. that was very special to me. It was my first Christmas Lights in Manchester. But i have to say though, that it was even better watching it live amongst a crowd of thousands than it looks as a pic on instagram 🙂

      Like

  14. Great photos, the cat is so cute! I actually thought the china town picture was of the one in London it looks so similar x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Does it? I have been to London, but due to time contraints i could only see the major sights of London . i missed out on ChinaTown .

      Like

  15. Ana De Jesus says:

    My favourite was the fort I love the history and culture I can feel seeping from it and its a beautiful reminder of why I love to travel-to explore!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Its in the largest state of India- Rajasthan. That trip was very special to me.
      1. I wanted to visit Rajasthan for a long time.
      2. Rajasthan is called the city of forts (alongwith other names)
      3. It was this vacation where i made up my mind two years ago to start my own blog. 🙂

      Like

  16. I love Instagram and some great shots of India. Especially like your first one in my hometown!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Awesome pictures! I have an account on Instagram but I am not using it now, but I want to build a good account in the future. I like the cat one, looks like a street cat, I want to take him to my home 🙂

    Thanks for sharing these cool pictures with us!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wanted to take him with me too. But no its a house cat and unfortunately today as I write the comment those neighbours have shifted and so has the cat 😦 sigh

      Like

  18. Jolina says:

    I love Instagram. Photography was my first love so that app is right up my alley. And I’ll have one those hot chocolates please 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sure. . . . .Let me know about your milk and sugar preferences I can send u a cup 😛

      Like

  19. I like the photograph of the man holding up the oranges. I am not on isnstagram, it is one of the few social networks I am not on. I never knew there was a Chinatown in Manchester…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the chinatown here in Manchester is quite old. Its basically just two streets with restaurants, markets , handicraft markets and a chinese newspaper stall. I am fairly new to Instagram too, I am left to figure out how to publicize better thorugh the use of tags. But I am working on it. 😛

      Like

  20. Jessie says:

    I really like all pictures you’ve taken! The fireworks and the cat may be my favorite because you know… cats are insanely photogenic. 😀 Keep up great work and thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Nate says:

    I like the stories behind! In my opinion it is missing a lot on Instagram. I like the last one a lot and the fireworks! I’m @unbridled15 on Instagram

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Great images! I love your Christmas ones (christmas is my favourite time of the year). I’m @kerryobyrne on instagram, would love to see more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Yes christmas is my fav time of the year too. Back in India it is celebrated differently than in Manchester. But i liked how the celebrations begin at least a month before 24/25th here. Its great to look at the christmas shops and markets and food. . . .:P

      Like

  23. Megan Indoe says:

    Instagram is my favorite social media platform, I love the images you’ve captured and the stories you’ve shared with them! Beautiful gallery!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. do drop in your instagram account too. I would love to follow it. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

