Vintage Clothing Kilo Sale

I had previously heard about Garage Sales and Backyard sales in movies and stories (If my memory is not failing me πŸ˜› ), but hearing about the Vintage Sale about to take place on the 31st of January hosted by the Manchester Metropolitan University, made me lock my dates for visiting it. So, a friend of mine and I went to the Vintage Sale braving the rain like many others.

Interestingly in this vintage Sale, you do not pay for the individual items. You only pay for the weight of the items. The payment was calculated on the basis of 15 pounds per kilo rate. Thus, everyone I saw were coming out with huge stuffed bags in both hands.

As I entered the sale, we were asked to pay the entrance fees (Β£3 from 11am-12pm and Β£1.50 12 pm onwards) and given a bag to stuff whatever we wanted to purchase. To be honest, I had not really gone to buy anything (I am a bit broke at the moment :P). So, I wandered around and looked at the Sale. From shirts, T-shirts, jeans, mufflers, hats, bags, necklaces, finger rings- you name it, it was there. These sales would be a great place for Fashionistas of the world.

Here are some photographs that I took of the event.

IMG_0275-001

IMG_0286

IMG_0283

IMG_0277-001

IMG_0280

IMG_0285-001

Thus, I would personally recommend to visit such sales to have an experience and if you are a photographer or blogger, you can get great stories for your blogs and photographs to cherish the moments.Β 

 

 

31 Comments Add yours

  1. Jessica Ayun says:

    Always on eye on these sales. It feels fulfilling after getting such great bargain. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sveeteskapes says:

    Oh your post makes me want to go look for a vintage sale in my hood. The finds are amazing yes, and the thing I love the most about these sales is that you never know what you will find and come back with some amazing pieces at a great price, how fun right!
    xx, Kusum | http://www.sveeteskapes.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rodanthi says:

    Such a great idea! I’ve never been to such a sale, I don’t even know if I can find one where I live, but I would definitely enjoy this. I love vintage and I think you can find unbeleivable things in those sales.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, there are lots of innovative things to find in those sales. Do you live in the UK? then I have posted a link in my first comment, you can check their FB Page and find out if there are any sales near your place. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rodanthi says:

        Unfortunately I don’t live in the UK. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh. But i’m sure a little bit of hunting and you’ll find vintage sales near your place or something even better. . . . πŸ™‚

        Like

  4. Joanna says:

    Those pins are so cute and it’s amazing that you can maybe buy all of them for just Β£15 (i assume they don’t weight more than 1 kilo together). I like the patterned shirts, they can be a great choice for an outfit with a part of shorts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah. I agree. the shirts look really comfy; especially with the summer season coming up.

      Like

  5. Shanna Rogers says:

    UGH I would LOVE to be there! 😦 So many great things going on in the East. Wish the US did things like this around my area.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t you have garage sales or something on those lines in the US?

      Like

      1. Shanna Rogers says:

        Yeah – but I don’t think they would be as interesting as this. A lot of the yard sales I have gone to are… slim pickins. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I have such a love/hate relationship with kilo sales! They’re so cool but I always underestimate how much my bag weighs and end up spending loads..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha . That happens quite a lot with me .

      Like

  7. Alison says:

    Vintage sales are a lot of fun if you are in the mood to dig. I usually get frustrated and bored about half the time as everyone else! But I have found some great bargains!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. More than the clothes, I have a soft corner for brooches and accessories.

      Like

  8. karlapitzen says:

    We have a lot of garage sales around here, but I have never heard of paying by weight! It seems you could score a lot of bargains that way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes. πŸ™‚ Totally !

      Like

  9. Bella says:

    I LOOOOVE going to garage sales. I always find such great deals as well as a great way to get rid of my old stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Omg what a fabulous sale!!! I love finding sales like this. If you dig deep enough you can usual score amazing items!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah! I so agree πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. I love clothes, I love shopping and I love Vintage. I am a big Vintage stalker and I cannot believe I didn’t know about this. This is amazing thank you so much for letting us know!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great to know this post has been of some help to you πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. SofarsoSabine says:

    Vintage sales are always so full of history. I always wonder who was wearing it and what story the clothes have.
    xo Sabine
    http://www.sofarsosabine.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have actually given me a new perspective to Vintage Sales. Next time, I attend one i would try to look beyond the surface of the clothes and get deep inside their history. πŸ™‚ Thanks.

      Like

  13. KatR says:

    Oh my gosh! I could easily get into all kinds of trouble over-spending at a sale like that! I adore all of that kind of stuff!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Amy says:

    My local vintage store just this occasionally! It’s a nice little concept and a great way to grab a bargain if that’s what you’re into πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yes. I do agree with you πŸ™‚

      Like

  15. Lana says:

    What? How did I not know about a vintage sale? I am now on a mission to find one near me. I am a vintage junkie πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are many vintage sales all across the UK- in Manchester, Newcastle, york, Leeds, Leicester, Birmingham. etc. Maybe you can keep a track of them near you through their official FB Page. Here is the link https://www.facebook.com/JudysAffordableVintageFair/?fref=ts

      Like

Leave a Reply

